Games I played in 2022


Thanks to my Razer I have a nice little summary of where I have been gaming the last year. ( other then Warcraft that is)

2022 saw me studying and working full time and next year will be the same, so gaming time is precious. I haven’t rejoined a guild because I can’t commit to any kind of raiding schedule, and I am ok with that for this cycle of my life – I don’t need to quit completely but I do need to manage priorities.

I also have a Switch lite and an Xbox, but the switch is really only used for animal crossing and two point hospital. I did buy the Star Trek Prodigy game and will play that more over Christmas break.

Stardew I tried both on switch and Pc and I was eternally frustrated by my inability to do more things because of energy levels. I was trying to rush ‘progression’ because Wow has trained me to grind – but thats not how to play. I may revisit when I can pace myself

Ark was my second love, but I’ve never quite recovered after losing my biggest base because I didn’t log in and feed my dinos in time – this can be a huge time sink and I ended up hosting an offline session and god moded my tame times so I could collect some dinos that were out of reach before ( try baby sitting a snoring T Rex for hours to tame it) I did get to explore the map more including the ice areas where survivability is harder. I was tempted to also try in xbox but there is a new Switch game out that is getting ok gameplay reviews, and I can see me playing it casually so will see what Santa brings this year. ( Or else I will buy)

Satisfactory has a great – non toxic community of builders and the game is not even fully released. As one person said – there is absolutely no pressure – you can progress as slow or fast as you like, the map is huge, and you don’t have restrictions on things like day/night and sleep requirements. ( your character is permanently fueled by Coffee ) you can be creative or technical or productive. I love the problem solving requirements, and the exploration. I still have a grind mentality here though, but when the goals are just so big you are also forced to pace yourself. I will keep going back.

I was surprisingly engaged with Raft, I just found the navigation hard trying to get to places I hadn’t seen. The build/ reinforcement was fine, was fed watered and protected – had a fantastic net debri system set up – starting collecting the animals and even found the radio tower and cruise ship, just got lost too often with wind direction, and couldn’t sustain a motor for too long so too much time spent on open seas.

Only a little way through Halo – but happy to keep going with the story.

Will see what next year brings – happily immersed in WOW for now till Uni starts back.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other subscribers

 

Add to Google

Wanna Email me?

Provided by Nexodyne

Archives

Blog Azeroth

Blog Stats

  • 839,769 hits