Recruiting:The View from a Pleb.


It was recently raised that effectively all those who can possibly spec to heal may need to do so for our raiding Forays.

I’m not 80 yet – but I am fearful that once I hit 80 I will be called upon to heal for raids. Another forum post has reinterated this expected ‘culture’ of the guild and effectively anyone who doesn’t respec or heavens forbids pass or DE on items that can be used for an offset is ‘ effectively telling everyone to F’off”

I do not want to be a healer – and I challange that any player or class that thinks people should be forced into being a healer when they did not pick that spec to “Go roll your own healer.. ”
Of course healers are essential – and I don’t mind healing – I even used to enjoy it – I’ve ended up healing stuff on my path to 80 – ( 6.5 bars away!) but the pressure and the assumption that I will jump at this fortious opportunity has made me feel rather stubbon about the whole issue.

I don’t mind some flexibility – but I want assurances that I won’t get stuck – and that they will be doing their best to fix the problem which is causing me to play something I don’t want to.

Saying “I don’t think your recruitment strategy of bumping a recruitment thread in the general forums”  is the best way to market our guild recruitment  needs – is an opinion of mine – and is directly related to that I might HAVE to heal when I don’t want to because of lack of numbers for 25’s,  but its an opinion I’m not really allowed to have because I don’t have rank.

Nor do I want the sole responsibility as a recruitment officer.

No one has asked for help in recuitment – or ideas how to attact the people we need – yet people are being slammed for not being ‘team players’ I don’t think that is being fair

Recuitment threads are so generic – bump – bump – bump

 Having just read Matticus’s post about the benifits of recruiting in the trade channel Is Trade Chat a Good avenue for Guild Prospects? it was funny to watch the reactions to that a well known/respected guild on our server has been plugging themselves on trade. There is alot of stigma attached to trade channel recruitment, especially since its the modus operendi of a infamous x server resident that makes a habit of ninjaing guild banks, but I have to agree it the best way to reach the most people, yet it was immediatley discounted as a way of getting the word out.

As a non officer / but still team player I can see that this lack of healer/dps/tank thing can be a problem for the guild, and for me. People are hitting 80 every day now – and they want to raid. An ex Gm of mine contacted me recently to let me know that a good player from their guild was looking at getting into raiding, and that he might contact me – So how do we get the message out to the right people?

/bump

What do I want to do for recruitment ?- I think there are two main things besides the traditional /bump that I think would be important to do. The trick though is avoid poaching – but there is nothing wrong with being able to being able to address the needs of a player/wanna be raider.

Run the raids requiring Pugs from non established guilds – we currently seem to be ‘borrowing’ people from our original feeder guild. They didn’t gquit when the rest did in the blow up – so they are not helping our guild by taking up spots we could fill with people more open to the idea of joining us.

Fun Guild activity – Seriously take the time away from speed leveling/questing/instance running and work out a peak time and show the server that a) you can organise a guild activity b) know how to have fun c) that the guild is unified – and I think thats the most important – Showing that as a guild you are strong in leadership – committment and focus.

4 Responses to “Recruiting:The View from a Pleb.”


  1. 1 Gevlon December 2, 2008 at 7:18 am

    You WILL get stuck forever and ever as a healer if you ever respec!

    The reason: Death Kinghts. There is a lot of them and they are capable of tanking and DPSing, but NOT healing. So if the server population increased with 20% DK-s, it automatically means 20% increase in healer demand.

    If you respec, your DPS spot will instantly be taken by a DPS-er (most probably by a newly 80 DK) and you’ll be stuck as healer. The healer shortage is NOT the problem of your guild, it’s the problem of all guilds. With the DK-s, the (potential)Tank:DPS:Healer ratio has changed a lot agains healers.

    It means: until enough people reroll/respec healers, there will be healer shortage and guilds will be unable to raid.

    Don’t forget that if you “temporarily” spec healer, you’ll be looting healer gear (spriest gear will be taken by warlocks for main spec), so when the Tank:DPS:healer ratio finally fix, you’ll have so lame DPS gear that no one will take you.

  2. 2 Esdras December 2, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Agree with Gevlon, and dont worry too much as shadow priests will still be wanted just not as much as we used to be.

  3. 3 pugnaciouspriest December 2, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    I can see it getting so messy and poltical – anything I can object to sounds ‘selfish’ – I will take it as it comes, or maybe not take it.

    I think I might be helping one of our holy priests level to encourage her to get there faster.

  4. 4 Isisxotic December 2, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    That’s a great idea – help healers level, and then you won’t be obliged to heal!


Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other subscribers

 

Add to Google

Wanna Email me?

Provided by Nexodyne

Archives

Blog Azeroth

Blog Stats

  • 839,771 hits