Where is Dwarf Priest?


I decided this deserved a post on its own, because I was talking about Dwarf Priest in vent last night with a guildy, and wondering where they went.   I found her mentioned in a Guild application  on another guilds forum as a reference site today and that prompted me to go have a look and see.

Her last post had 70 comments, and most of them are people asking her to come back,  but scrolling down to the bottom….

A commenter on her last post in identified themselves as the Dwarf Priests friend by the name of Kelly on September 1st 2009  and said that she had died.

She did end up her posting quite suddenly,  but this is the internets, and people do leave for all sorts of reasons,  has anyone else heard anything?  I can’t remember if someone else asked the same question recently..

I mean that yes bloggers have walked away, but surely you do not put the amount of work, and effort that she did into her posts, and care about the people who read you, without saying something – anything unless something tragic happened?

I hope that somewhere out there she is well,  a lot of bloggers looked to her for inspiration, and just from the amount of people wanting her back, shows that she is being missed.

If – it is worse case It took 8 months for someone from her real life to remember how important this blog was to her though – I don’t mean to be critical  – I am sure people are grateful to know, and with the anonymity  of the net, however  I at least would want people to know.

 This blog is important to me, and while my family may not understand the desire to play games, and then to want to write about it,   I think the detail and care that went into each of Dwarf priests work  shows it was important to her, What happens when if something terrible has happened,  her domain registeration runs out – and all her work disappears?

10 Responses to “Where is Dwarf Priest?”


  1. 1 Cassandri October 9, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Perhaps the writer of Dwarf Priest did pass away. Perhaps they’ve become seriously ill and dealing with their website just hasn’t been something they can worry about.

    However, I wouldn’t buy into the comments listed on that site. Not even the one from the friend called “Kelly”. There was already too much speculation in the comments thread for me to trust anything as fact.

    I for one am going to cross my fingers that, even if we never hear about it, A Dwarf Priest is somewhere out there going on with their everyday life.

  2. 2 Dusknoir October 9, 2009 at 6:06 am

    This really reminds me of something that happened with Dance, a shadow priest PVP video author: he didn’t post on his website for nearly 9 months, and over 200 comments accumulated, one even linking to the obituary of somebody who shared Dance’s name and location. Then, recently, he posted again, and said he had only left for real-life reasons.

    To quote Dwarf Priest’s article: Good times are ahead.

  3. 3 xeonio October 9, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Dwarf Priests’ disappearance is one of the major reasons I started blogging. She had great articles and it was always a great read with some very good information.

    If I passed away and didn’t play WoW with any of my IRL friends I don’t think anyone would really know.

    When you see an abrupt quit like that its either something drastic (like death) or they are simply too busy to deal with it. Each day for a little while they probably though oh, I’ll post a bit of something today but don’t have the chance to get around to it. Once you get out of the habit its pretty easy to not post… definitely something that slips to the edges of the mind.

    I hope she’s okay though and maybe one day she’ll return. If not, I wish her the best.

  4. 4 theerivs October 9, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    I wonder if I suddenly dropped dead what would happen to my readers…all 5 of them.

  5. 5 Gigantor1960 October 9, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    I am one of those who looked to her site for guidance and was/is worried about her sudden disappearance. I was praying they would make her lead contributor for Priest on WoW Insider/WoW.com. But oh well. She stopped posting shortly after that I believe.

    I also understand that sometimes people’s priorities change and what was once important is not a top priority compared to real life. To all the WoW bloggers you would be surprised how many people appreciate and would miss your contributions if you suddenly left. Why I would even miss Matticus if he ever disappeared :p

    Everyone keep up the gr8 work and here let’s hope all is well with Dwarf Priest.

  6. 6 MK October 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I’m not dead, but your post made me realize how important it is that I go and say a final “good-bye” if I will no longer be updating. Thank you for your concern. 🙂

  7. 9 Yami-Chan October 17, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    MK we love you!


  1. 1 Pink Pigtails and Favs of 09 « Rez The Weak! Trackback on December 17, 2009 at 9:21 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other subscribers

 

Add to Google

Wanna Email me?

Provided by Nexodyne

Archives

Blog Azeroth

Blog Stats

  • 839,774 hits