Whats your attention Span.


I have worked out my attention span on one encounter to be approx 2.5 hours.  Anything beyond that and I get cranky, annoyed,  I lose concentration,  more likely to make mistakes get distracted by my duel screen  ect ect ect

There has to be balance between challenge and head against a brick wall.   I am tired of dying so much!  

Actually let me rephrase that – I am tired of running back after dying. The Hodir run is the worst.  The actual boss encounters themselves are  always different to some degree.  Think upon it like how every BG is different and even though its the same setting, the same flags.  We still go back – again and again….   and again.

Our pursuit of hardmodes are racking up our deaths.   I’m still grateful to be in a guild that can kill stuff,  and I think we are sitting on Server 5th for Progression,  but this is the cost.  The cost is still worth it  but it’s always interesting to look back and go so..   that brain killed me  how many times?

 This is a shot from my DBM.   Granted that’s over several weeks but on  those bosses alone,  that’s a lot of wipes.

WoWScrnShot_072809_182151

Mama don’t let your babies grow up to be Raiders.

5 Responses to “Whats your attention Span.”


  1. 1 Gevlon July 28, 2009 at 10:02 am

    That’s not bad at all. Wipes themselves are not annoying. What’s annoying is when you know the next will be a wipe too, you know who will mess it up and and you can’t do anything about it.

    Yes you can: send an apply to some more progressed guilds.

  2. 2 Merlot July 28, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I think my guild’s collective attention span, if there’s such a thing, is about ten wipes on any one encounter. That’s the point where people start to give up hope, loose patience with the weaker raiders, and phone in their performance. It’s all downhill from there. I guess we’re not very hardcore, I’m not sure I’ve died 115 to any boss 😛

  3. 3 Pugnacious Priest July 28, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    @Gevlon – I’m running out of guilds on the ladder – and I am ‘Happy’ for the most. Some goals are worth trying for.. some just take longer to get. Our guild is pretty good at subbing out the ‘bads’ in a run. You screw up too many times and you will be subbed, and on any given night there is always someone willing to take your place .
    @Merlot – I thought the guild I was in at the times attempts on Sar 3d was excrutiating.. but Yogg so far in wipes has taken the cake. The numbers will get higher as we attempt other hardmodes on different bosses. Some we have been able to one or two shot, but with progression now being so closesly tied to Achievements, its not likely that we will ever take the easy road ,and to be honest I think I would get bored always doing vanilla Ulduar.

  4. 4 Grisan July 28, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Vezax run is the worst in Ulduar! Hodir is a bit less extreme but still very annyoing.

  5. 5 Silk July 30, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    I do think your guild is towards the top end of guilds around your server right? Not necessarily world first but that requires a substantial time commitment.

    Of course I had to look at my stats on DBM, they aren’t completely accurate (the fact that I know my 10 man Yogg stats is a bit sad). To me though one of the great feelings in raiding is the moment that boss drops after the days of wipes.

    We’ve started something along the lines of subbing out the underperformers. Its amazing how much just the threat of being subbed for low dps improves performance…


Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other subscribers

 

Add to Google

Wanna Email me?

Provided by Nexodyne

Archives

Blog Azeroth

Blog Stats

  • 839,772 hits